Header graphic for print
Focus on Regulation

Immigration Newletter – Department of Homeland Security

Due to the Ebola outbreak in West Africa, qualified nationals or habitual residents of Liberia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone living in the United States may apply to remain in the United States for at least 18 months under the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Temporary Protected Status (TPS) program. The designations of Liberia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone are effective as of 21 November 2014, and the initial registration period for TPS runs from 21 November through 20 May 2015. Once granted TPS, an individual is not removable from the United States, can obtain an employment authorization document (EAD), may be granted travel authorization, and cannot be detained by DHS on the basis of his or her immigration status in the United States.

Read more